Compact & Go — Everything You Need to Know!

Compact (1)

Imagine if you could work as a nurse while traveling state-to-state. Well, with a compact license, you can!

The 2016 List of Compact States

The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) was established in 2000 to simplify multi-state licensing for both Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical Nurses across the following 25 states:

  1. Arizona
  2. Arkansas
  3. Colorado
  4. Delaware
  5. Idaho
  6. Iowa
  7. Kentucky
  8. Maine
  9. Maryland
  10. Mississippi
  11. Missouri
  12. Montana
  13. Nebraska
  14. New Hampshire
  15. New Mexico
  16. North Carolina
  17. North Dakota
  18. Rhode Island
  19. South Carolina
  20. South Dakota
  21. Tennessee
  22. Texas
  23. Utah
  24. Virginia
  25. Wisconsin

Compact Licensure Qualifications

Hike, ski, shop, eat and explore the great outdoors — with a compact license, you can do it all! Not licensed yet? Why wait? Find out if you qualify and apply for a compact license today. Here are the requirements, listed below:

  • Must live in one of the eligible states of the compact.
  • Must be a current RN with good standing
  • Declare an NLC state as your primary state of residency
  • Must meet your home state’s licensure requirements
  • Once obtained,  employers can easily verify your compact licensure via databases and nursing boards – available online.

Learn more by visiting us online at For more information regarding NCSBN’s multi-state license rules visit or